My GallBladder Operation Part 1

Tuesday,28 Oct. 2014

o From the Desk with Bill

Part I of Bill’s Gallbladder operation ~ Well as most of you know I went to Manukau Surgery Centre Friday 24th and had my gallbladder operation, so here is my story of the ordeal.

I will be truthful to say I was very nervous about it all as most of you know know I’m not the healthiest person on the block due to some health issues such as my body doesnt produce cortisol, so I have to take it by mouth through medications or shot if needed.

Delwyn and I went in and talked to a nice nurse and she checked my blood pressure etc to make sure all was okay still since the pre op appointment. She even told me the worse of it is waiting here in the waiting room for the operation or at home waiting. I agree to a point but I think its more scary being in the operating room and getting all hooked up to I.Vs and whatever, anyway she measured my legs and put these white horrible leg stockings on, they prevent blood clots to the legs and I have to wear them for couple weeks.

A few minutes later I was slipping into the latest fashion of the famous butt cheek gown trying to cover as much as possible, then we were greeted by the doctor(young bloke) and doctor in training(middle age woman) and she was telling me all the things that could go wrong and did I understand it and I agreed that I did even though I felt as if I wanted to chuck after thinking about it.

I really didnt like the thought of them cutting the wrong thing and messing up my liver which is not good at all, and as they tell you it only happens to 1 out of 1000.. I thought yeah theres that one I dont like one. Anyway I agreed that they go ahead and just get it out of me, it was painful enough.

So afterwards we were sent back to the waiting room where I really started thinking about it as the clock was ticking away on the wall (1 out of a 1000 just 1 . 1 .1 . 1 .1 hmmm I don’t like the sound of 1) I sortive just broke down and thought I really feeling sick about it all and Delwyn comfort me telling me all was going to go well.

An hour passed then the surgeon came and talked with me and read over my notes, discussed his thoughts on the cortisol. Delwyn and I was a little skeptical on the way he responded to it but then He got a hold of my Professor Holdaway the Endocrinologist and was told up front my needing of the cortisol during surgery and afterwards, so felt good about that.

Then later I was called to another room and got up on the surgery bed and lady hooking me up to heart machine and hooking up IV, and the surgeon said okay lets find a vein which was a bit hard as most of my veins are small but I have this nice one that most people use when I show them on my arm and its the biggest vein in my arm so he said yes I believe you are right this works just perfect so he stuck the needle in and said okay “Here we go” I thought okay okay ummm hmm yeah okay errr umm and then it was boom like someone closing the curtains in a well lit room and I thought as I was going out well God this is it whatever the outcome Im ready, and thought of Him wiping away my tears and thought about the no more dying and I thought of family.

Next thing this guy standing over me saying okay take a deep breath Bill take a deep breath and I was thought man I can’t breath felt like my oxygen was cut short I said man this stupid mask is not helping do you have the nose breathing one so he gave me that next thing Im waking up again – Billy take slow deep breaths and I said okay maybe this is not going to work let me take this off and just breath without them and he said no you need one of them on and I said okay then give me the mask back because this is not working and I said do you even have it on? Lol and He put it on me and I was out again and it was like this for a while and I kept thinking how many times do I have to wake up stay awake you old bird what did he say deep long breath okay deeeeppp lon…zzzzzz

Mr.Cockrell would you like a Lemon IceBlock and I said sure as my throat was sore from them putting tube down my throat, I was biting at that thing like it was the last one on earth and I got half way through it and I was like wow man I need some sleep I dont recall drinking anything why am I feeling like this and Bam it hit me I’m awake I’m still on planet earth woot woot Thank you Lord for this that I can have another day and perhaps have some more wonderful memories of my family and visit Texas at least one more tim zzzzzz

Mr Cockrell can you tell me if this is your phone number so we can call your wife and he read it out and I said yes thats it, I said so everything went okay and He said yes your surgery was a success (I thought to myself I be the judge of that lol) So He called my wife and told her so they could come and see me.

Meanwhile in the recovery room this ole bird still flying in and out of sleep for a while, finally the nurse said we are going to move you now Mr.Cockrell and I said okay sounds good.

They put me in a room and I saw Bryan,Kylee and Jessica and Delwyn they all looked at me like they had the thought nope no improvement there lol. Same ole model maybe less grumpy since he is dopey.

Then they served me some chicken,rice, spinach and some pear custard thing I went after the chicken first and had a bite and I was like huh thats some dry stuff ferget that and dont care for the white rice. Hmmm spinach that I can handle so I munched through that and then I had some of the pear custard which was nice but I was so out of it tired and sleepy I gave the rest to Jessica and whovever else wanted it. Family left and said their goodbyes Delwyn stayed a little longer then said see everything turned out good now get some rest.. no arguments there zzzzz.

Woke up around 2:30am Saturday morning and I was like oucheee what on tarnations is going on here then I pressed the button – Nurse was there faster that I could say I’m in pain she already had panadol in her hand and gave it to me, thank you I said, then she said have you went to the toilet yet, I was thinking to myself what did she say? have I been to the toilet? Woman are you even aware that I have been operated on and you asking me if I been to the toilet yet am I suppose to be going to the toilet yet? – Mr. Cockrell have you been to the toilet yet and has your bladder moved.. thinking again.. what is wrong with this woman I havent had a drink since 9am yesterday morning and she wanting to know if my bladder moved yet what kind of question is that?.. so I answered no ma’am I havent been to the toilet yet and I dont feel the need to either. (nurse) would you like some water Mr.Cockrell.. thinking… Now your talking and thinking straight. Then I said Yes Ma’am I sure would thank you, come to think of it I’m a bit hungry too got anything bite to eat at this time of the morning since I’m awake. (Nurse) I will check for you if there is anything .. comes back within less than 5 minutes with a nice plate of Beeftips and something that look like puree mashed tators. Salad and more pear custard. I thanked her and then started eating then I thought hmmm fat of the beef tips this is good aaahhh steak nom nom nom n… wait a minute halfway through the steak, am I even supposed to be even eating this.. then I thought well they should know what I am allowed to eat so I finished the beef with no trouble lol and picked up the tators with my fork it didnt look apeitizing but I said sorry but Im gonna eat it anyway so I ate it then looked at salad well salad I normally wouldnt even touch you in my younger days but I had a good meal of beef and taters so you can chase them down so I ate that then started on the pear and finished it up and felt like a king for about 45 minutes and suddenly boom the gas that they put in you to raise your stomach so they can see to do the surgery started to move around in me and I was like oucheee and I thought I have had more than enough Im gonna lay down and sleep this off yeah right that gas moving about is not pleasant it wasnt until later after the panadol kicked in that I was able to rest.. – Please stay tune to Part II of Bill’s gallbladder op next time.

o Family News

My Aunt Fay back in Texas took a fall about 330 in the morning and got a gash and a knot on the back of her head. But other than that she is fine.

o Weather – Lately its been windy a bit of rain now and again temptures around 13C – 20C

o Cornerstone

I receive emails all the time from numerous friends and family, if you have anything you like to share please

email me at elder@gracechurch-sl.org

This one came from Robin Burnett a few years ago called but I thought it was worth a reshare.

What will Matter

Ready or not, some day it will all come to an end.

There will be no more sunrises, no days, no hours or minutes.

All the things you collected, whether treasured or forgotten,

will pass to someone else.

Your wealth, fame and temporal power will shrivel to irrelevance.

It will not matter what you owned or what you were owed.

Your grudges, resentments, frustrations, and jealousies will finally disappear.

So, too, your hopes, ambitions, plans, and to-do lists will all expire.

The wins and losses that once seemed so important will fade away.

It won’t matter where you came from, or on what side of the tracks you lived.

It won’t matter whether you were beautiful or brilliant.

Your gender, skin color, ethnicity will be irrelevant.

So what will matter?

How will the value of your days be measured?

What will matter is not what you bought, but what you built;

not what you got, but what you gave.

What will matter is not your success, but your significance

What will matter is not what you learned, but what you taught.

What will matter is every act of integrity, compassion, courage and sacrifice

that enriched, empowered or encouraged others to emulate your example.

What will matter is not your competence, but your character.

What will matter is not how many people you knew,

but how many will feel a lasting loss when you’re gone.

What will matter is not your memories, but the memories of those who loved you.

What will matter is how long you will be remembered, by whom and for what.

Living a life that matters doesn’t happen by accident.

It’s not a matter of circumstance but of choice.

Choose to live a life that matters.

~ by Michael Josephson ~

…………………………………………………………

Also I saw this on a calandar and thought I would post it.

~ If you judge people,you have no time to love them.~

><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><

Prayers needed.

Please continue to keep me in your prayers as I heal from the gallbladder surgery.

Pray for Delwyn as she continues her new job.

~~~~~

o Cookbook Corner

Cinnamon Rice Pudding

1/2 cup rice

1 cup water

1 tablespoon fat free milk

2 tablespoons raisins

1 teaspoon low calorie margarine

1/2 teaspoon sugar

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

In a small saucepan, bring rice, water, milk and raisins to a boil, stirring occasionally. Lower heat, cover tightly, and cook 15 minutes on low until liquid is absorbed and rice is tender. Mix sugar and cinnamon together and sprinkle over rice to serve. 2 servings.

Nutrition Information per serving:

Calories 219, Calories From Fat 20, Total Fat 2g, Saturated Fat 0g, Cholesterol 0mg, Sodium 29mg, Total Carbohydrate 45g, Dietary Fiber 1g, Sugars 7g, Protein 4g

Exchanges per serving: 2 1/2 Starch, 1/2 Fruit

o Health Corner

Tips for a Good Night’s Sleep

A recent research study conducted by Boston University School of Medicine

found a connection between insomnia and diabetes. Study participants that reported sleeping

less than 6 hours or more than 9 hours a day had an increased incidence of diabetes, compared

to those who reported sleeping 7-8 hours. Source:Netscape/CNN

On this page: What are your sleep patterns? | Tips for better daytime habits |

Tips for a better sleep environment | Tips for a better pre-sleep ritual | Tips for getting back to sleep

| Tips for keeping a sleep diary

For more information check out this website – http://www.helpguide.org/life/sleep_tips.htm

Getting the Sleep You Need

Sleep Tips

Sleep Disorders

Insomnia Causes

Insomnia Treatments

Sleep Aids & Medications

Narcolepsy

Restless Legs (RLS)

Sleep Apnea

Snoring

Sleep & Aging

What are your sleep patterns?

Do you have trouble falling asleep? Do you fall asleep easily, then wake up 5 hours later and can’t fall back

asleep? Do you wake up several times during the night and have trouble staying asleep? If so, you are one of

over 100 million Americans who experience some form of insomnia and your sleep may be improved by better

sleep habits.

Tips for better daytime habits

* Do not nap during the day. If you are having trouble sleeping at night, try not to nap during the day

because you will throw off your body clock and make it even more difficult to sleep at night. If you are

feeling especially tired, and feel as if you absolutely must nap, be sure to sleep for less than 30 minutes,

early in the day.

* Limit caffeine and alcohol. Avoid drinking caffeinated or alcoholic beverages for several hours before

bedtime. Although alcohol may initially act as a sedative, it can interrupt normal sleep patterns.

* Don’t smoke. Nicotine is a stimulant and can make it difficult to fall asleep and stay asleep. Many

over-the-counter and prescription drugs disrupt sleep.

* Expose yourself to bright light/sunlight soon after awakening. This will help to regulate your body’s

natural biological clock. Likewise, try to keep your bedroom dark while you are sleeping so that the light

will not interfere with your rest.

* Exercise early in the day. Twenty to thirty minutes of exercise every day can help you sleep, but be

sure to exercise in the morning or afternoon. Exercise stimulates the body and aerobic activity before

bedtime may make falling asleep more difficult.

* Check your iron level. Iron deficient women tend to have more problems sleeping so if your blood is

iron poor, a supplement might help your health and your ability to sleep.

Tips for a better sleep environment

* Make sure your bed is large enough and comfortable. If you are disturbed by a restless bedmate,

switch to a queen- or king-size bed. Test different types of mattresses. Try therapeutic shaped foam

pillows that cradle your neck or extra pillows that help you sleep on your side. Get comfortable cotton

sheets.

* Make your bedroom primarily a place for sleeping. It is not a good idea to use your bed for paying

bills, doing work, etc. Help your body recognize that this is a place for rest or intimacy.

* Keep your bedroom peaceful and comfortable. Make sure your room is well ventilated

and the temperature consistent. And try to keep it quiet. You could use a fan or a “white noise”

machine to help block outside noises.

* Hide your clock. A big, illuminated digital clock may cause you to focus on the time and

make you feel stressed and anxious. Place your clock so you can’t see the time when you are in bed.

Tips for a better pre-sleep ritual

* Keep a regular schedule. Try to go to bed and wake up at the same time everyday, even

on the weekends. Keeping a regular schedule will help your body expect sleep at the same time each day.

Don’t oversleep to make up for a poor night’s sleep – doing that for even a couple of days can reset

your body clock and make it hard for you to get to sleep at night.

* Incorporate bedtime rituals. Listening to soft music, sipping a cup of herbal tea, etc., cues

your body that it’s time to slow down and begin to prepare for sleep.

* Relax for a while before going to bed. Spending quiet time can make falling asleep easier.

This may include meditation, relaxation and/or breathing exercises, or taking a warm bath.

Try listening to recorded relaxation or guided imagery programs.

* Don’t eat a large, heavy meal before bed. This can cause indigestion and interfere

with your normal sleep cycle. Drinking too much fluid before bed can cause you to get up to urinate.

Try to eat your dinner at least two hours before bedtime.

* Bedtime snacks can help. An amino acid called tryptophan, found in milk, turkey,

and peanuts, helps the brain produce serotonin, a chemical that helps you relax.

Try drinking warm milk or eat a slice of toast with peanut butter or a bowl of cereal before bedtime.

Plus, the warmth may temporarily increase your body temperature and the subsequent drop may

hasten sleep.

* Jot down all of your concerns and worries. Anxiety excites the nervous system,

so your brain sends messages to the adrenal glands, making you more alert. Write down your worries

and possible solutions before you go to bed, so you don’t need to ruminate in the middle of the night.

A journal or “to do” list may be very helpful in letting you put away these concerns until the next day

when you are fresh.

* Go to sleep when you are sleepy. When you feel tired, go to bed.

* Avoid “over-the-counter” sleep aids, and make sure that your prescribed medications

do not cause insomnia. There is little evidence that supplements and other over-the-counter “sleep aids”

are effective. In some cases, there are safety concerns. Antihistamine sleep aids, in particular,

have a long duration of action and can cause daytime drowsiness. Always talk to your doctor or

healthcare practitioner about your concerns!

Tips for getting back to sleep

* Do visualization. Focus all your attention on your toes or visualize walking down an endless stairwell.

Thinking about repetitive or mindless things will help your brain to shut down and adjust to sleep.

* Get out of bed if unable to sleep. Don’t lie in bed awake. Go into another room and do something

relaxing until you feel sleepy. Worrying about falling asleep actually keeps many people awake.

* Don’t do anything stimulating. Don’t read anything job related or watch a stimulating

TV program (commercials and news shows tend to be alerting). Don’t expose yourself to bright light.

The light gives cues to your brain that it is time to wake up.

* Get up and eat some turkey. Turkey contains tryptophan, a major building block for making

serotonin, a neurotransmitter, which sends messages between nerve cells and causes feelings of

sleepiness. Eating foods containing tryptophan raise the levels of serotonin produced in the body,

which in turn increase a person’s feeling of sleepiness. It is best to eat tryptophan on an empty stomach.

Other foods, besides turkey, that contain a notable amount of tryptophan are: milk, cottage cheese,

yogurt, ice cream, chicken, cashews, soy beans and tuna.

* Consider changing your bedtime. If you are experiencing sleeplessness or insomnia consistently,

think about going to bed later so that the time you spend in bed is spent sleeping. If you are only

getting five hours of sleep at night, figure out what time you need to get up and subtract five hours

(for example, if you want to get up at 6:00 am, go to bed at 1:00 am). This may seem counterproductive

and, at first, you may be depriving yourself of some sleep, but it can help train your body to sleep

consistently while in bed. When you are spending all of your time in bed sleeping, you can gradually

sleep more, by adding 15 minutes at a time.

Tips for keeping a sleep diary

Learn about your sleep patterns and habits by keeping a daily sleep diary. See Helpguide’s sample

sleep diary or make up your own and include:

* Time you went to bed and woke up;

* Total sleep hours;

* Quality of sleep;

* Times that you were awake during the night and what you did (e.g. stayed in bed with

eyes closed or got up, had a glass of milk and meditated);

* Amount of caffeine or alcohol you consumed and times of consumption;

* Types of food and drink and times of consumption;

* Feelings – happiness, sadness, stress, anxiety;

* Drugs or medications taken, amounts taken and times of consumption.

Leave a Reply

